Let’s Go Back in Time.

24 Oct

I gave this post the title I did for two reasons. 1) the event that inspired it happened over two weeks ago and 2) I felt like I was going back in time when it happened. What was this event you ask? Why, commencement of course!

My mom picked me up from Waterloo the moment my last class of the day ended and sped me home. I raced up the stairs to my room and barely had time to glance at the bed I’ve barely slept in for these last four months before I was back in the car dressed and doing my makeup on route. My mom dropped me off at the familiar front doors where I headed for the PAC thinking to myself “Late for school as always -what’s changed?” I passed faces I’d seen a thousand times before and got in line to receive my gown. Who did I see there but the fabulous Mikaelee?

It was as I lined up with my old classmates that I thought to myself for the second time that day, “What’s changed?”. Here we are in our red gowns to celebrate the end of high school. We’re supposed to have grown up and moved on. We’ve moved out of our parents houses and up in the world. So why are there no signs of change? Why do we still grudgingly follow the directions of the teachers, like a herd of cattle? These people are no longer authority figures and yet we fall so easily back into the old habits of high school! In spite of orders to line up alphabetically we gravitate to the ones we were friends with before. The potheads showed up stoned, the obnoxious talked through the ceremony and the dumb wore their caps backwards. Has ANYTHING changed?

It wasn’t all bad. It was so great to see the people I’ve been missing, if only for a few minutes. But I felt like University was just a long and vivid dream. As if I was showing up for school after a particularly good night’s sleep -not a quarter of a year’s absence. It was a bittersweet evening. One full of hugs and group photos. One of hurried updates and the exchanging of phone numbers. It was lovely to see you both, however it was a lot like being given a single potato chip and then being forced to stare at the rest of the bag without eating any more. Much love!

Leave a Reply

