You Can Do Anything

26 Jan

Do you remember around this time last year when it felt like the possibilities for your future were endless? I can recall feeling like there were so many options it would be impossible to choose just one path. Not only were there so many schools to choose from, there were residences, programs, co-op, con-ed, gap years and victory laps all to consider. I made a lot of choices last year, and I’m happy with the ones I made, but lets face it. It’s easy to get stuck on the conveyor belt of life. To say; “Well, I wanted to learn this stuff a year ago, so I’d better stick with it now.”

Today I went to an info session for first years who need to declare a major. And it opened my eyes up to a whole other world of choices to make. Was I overwhelmed? Stressed? Did I say to myself; “Not again…”? Nope. I got excited.

Of course, there’s always the option of switching schools, programs, majors, dropping out… but I don’t want to, I’m happy with all of those things. Still, there are endless possibilities beyond potential majors. For example, I want to do at least one exchange. The list of possible schools to attend, possible countries to move to is endless! And today I learned that even if a school is not on the list I can contact that school and get special permission to go anyway! It doesn’t even have to be out of the country. Apparently a Psych major from a few years ago did the winter terms of second and third year at UBC so that she could do some awesome skiing!

So I guess the point of this post is not to box yourself in. Consider every option. Today I questioned weather or not I’m really that into Psych. I only had to think about it for about two seconds before I decided that I love what I’m doing and I want to stay right here, but the important thing is that I thought about it. I gave myself that chance to change my mind.

“Dwell in possibility” -Emily Dickinson

One Response to “You Can Do Anything”

  1. tobeabletofloat January 31, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    i actually looked for a like button, to like this post. hah.

    anyways, love this! and i enjoy and appreciate the peace you have in this crazy time of life. keep it up. 🙂

    -meg

Leave a Reply

