my new family

7 Feb

I sit here I smell the residue of coffee on my sweatshirt, hair, and the  skin of my finger’s. I smile because it’s something that has become familiar and ordinary. Sure, the job was a mind boggling change and a little different then I had expected it to be. But now I welcome the residue it leaves on my extremities, it’s something I can count on and something that has become part of me. Besides the smell… I have so much fun there because I can be myself, and I am pushed to be me, to dwell in and enjoy who I am.

There exists moments when I feel alone, friends who have dispersed, and friends that aren’t really friends. but despite, I have been given beautiful moments with seriously some cool and  strange strangers. and my awesome buckers family.

While sometimes these moments are, honestly, quite shallow. But others… it’s almost as if, there are times where you become old friends with someone you will have 5 minutes of your life with. You both share something with the other, because there is no pressure, and really, there is nothing to lose.

I have learned so much about myself while working here, I am pushed to be out there, exciting, engaging, and fun and I LOVE it. Everything is so much better with partners who are striving to be these things. And besides that, I have been able to open up and also have confidence in me. I have learned the importance to be REAL with people, to engage and to value whomever comes rolling in – too look people in the eye and genuinely care about what they have to say. I have had some of the coolest most inspiring conversations – no matter how ordinary and short they may be.

While it might sound sad to some people, I honestly love my job – for the sole fact I get to smile into so many different people’s lives and I get to share the workplace with some freakin’ cool people who are now my second family!

Mark is a tall dark and handsome aspiring actor who is hilarious to work with and always lightens up any stressful situation. I always enjoy his reassuring smile and easy going personality.

Cassie and I have hilarious times together, we laugh probably too often in front of strangers who seem a little bit hesitant as to why there are tears in our eyes.

April was very intimidating at first, but she turned out to be a girl with a huge heart. Her southern accent seeping into conversation makes me smile.

Vincent is the most peaceful person I have ever met. He inspires me to be at rest, and to enjoy any moment that I am given. The atmosphere transforms when he is around, both the customers and the employees can all feel it.

And all the rest of em… I can’t imagine my life without every single one of them!

P.S. Here’s a cool quote I heard recently….

“It’s odd how day by day nothing changes, but pretty soon, everything’s different.”

One Response to “my new family”

  1. tobeabletofloat February 10, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    Meg, I love this!
    It isn’t sad that you love your job, it’s amazing. It is such a blessing to not hate going to work all the time. The reason why I hated working at the hotel wasn’t the work itself, it was the fact that I wasn’t really friends with anyone there and that I spent the hotel in empty rooms with nobody to talk to. But you get to be a part of so many people’s days! In some cases I’m sure you make or break it (and in most cases, I bet you make it). The reason why I loved working in the kitchen at camp was the same. The work wasn’t really that much more enjoyable than cleaning hotel rooms, but the other staff, the kids and the atmosphere of Lake Baptiste? Amazing.
    I’m so happy to hear of your happiness! How’s school? And this whole Costa Rica thing!? I’m so excited for you, but also dying to hear more! Skype?

Leave a Reply

