Failures.

17 May

“These people honour me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me” Matthew 15:8

Oh how much I pray that this verse does not include me. I know I don’t read my Bible enough, I don’t pray enough, I don’t do my devotional every day. How is it possible that I cannot find time enough to draw near to God; the One who has saved my life. The One who has turned my world upside-down. This God who gave His Son to be crucified horrifically in order to pay for my ignorance and negligence. As long as I try to “find” myself some time, I will never get anywhere. I have to stop in every day and make time. Only then will I know Jesus Christ in a real and moving way. I seem to keep putting it off, thinking that once I get the answers to my questions it will be better. Every time I get closer I take a step back, searching for another thing that cannot be. I’m starting to realize, however, that I don’t need to know the answer to everything. If I keep waiting for every answer I will never get there. I have to learn to trust. Something I have never been good at. I have to trust that every one of those questions is answered with Jesus. 

3 Responses to “Failures.”

  1. tobeabletofloat May 18, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    I hate to say it, but I put Him off too. I know I need to be closer to God, but I’m always “busy”. When I DO make time for Him it feels so great, and I wonder why I don’t do it more often, but eventually I fall back out of the habit and I’m where I started again.

    • tobeabletofloat May 18, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      ^Jazz, by the way.

    • tobeabletofloat May 24, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

      I know, I feel the same. I’m trying to make time for Him now! We could try together if we keep failing at it. ❤

Leave a Reply

